The Healing Mind

From left: Nancy, Lily and Bix.

Dear Friends, I write this blog entry from a very different location than I usually do. For the past month I have been in the hospital with pneumonia. I have forgotten what fresh air smells like, the taste of home cooking, and my pups. Still, I am so grateful to have excellent care, my own room, and a window, which overlooks an old dam where the cold salty Atlantic mixes with the fresh water of the Penobscot River. And, on a couple of occasions my pups Lily and Bix have stopped in for short visits. Although they look very serious about my condition, they are acutely focused on small treats I have in my hand.

Throughout this ordeal, the one beacon that offers hope is my mind. . . I find myself constantly focusing on the patterns of floor tiles and curtains, the colors and patterns of nursing smocks, and my desire to sketch and draw what I am dreaming. No matter how delusional I become with fever and pain, my mind is still looking for some kind of Gestalt or connection between what is happening to my body and mind. It will take 6 to 8 months for my body to be back to normal but my mind is okay and will continue to work as my body heals. I’ll keep working.

I’ll write next month. In the meantime, thank you for reading this blog and take care.

 

Nancy’s website: www.nancyleavitt.com

Bookseller, Priscilla Juvelis: www.juvelisbooks.com

 

This entry was posted in Design. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Healing Mind

  1. Luce Zolna says:

    Keeping you in my thoughts and wishes for a steady recovery.

  2. velma says:

    this is wretched news, indeed. please take care and work on healing. those little dogs, while liking your treats, are also eager to see you better. this is a rough winter in too many ways. my best wishes for continued renewed health.

  3. Jane Brenner says:

    Wishing you a good return to health and strength!

Leave a Reply

