“The String Shop”

DSC09297My book project, Snow Palace, is taking shape. The lettering design and layout of the book is done and currently I am working on the illustrations before I put it all together. While looking for fabric and thread for the illustrations my niece Joelle (www.mermaidbindery.com) introduced to me to what she affectionately calls the “string shop.” Its real name is the Stitcher’s Corner (www.stitcherscornermaine.net).

DSC09270 The store is situated on the corner of Washington and Union streets, one block from US Route 1 in Wiscasset, Maine. There is a small sign on Route 1 indicating the location of the store. Just take a look at these colorful photos of every kind of thread imaginable: cotton, silk, wool, rayon, and more.

DSC09292


The store has two floors of thread for all any kind of decora-tive sewing on fabric and paper. They specialize in counted cross-stitch, needlepoint, and embroidery. 

DSC09278The staff is friendly and very helpful about all stitchery projects. Check out their website, they offer mail order and are open Tuesday through Saturday from 10-5 pm but it is best to call ahead to make sure they are open.

Just a word about Valentine’s Day

DSC09320

Last year at this time a dear friend, Suzanne, traveled from the west coast to take care of me while I was recuperating from a serious illness. While I napped and my husband worked she cooked and cleaned for us. She spent her spare time in the studio working on her Valentine cards. After she left, I began finding tiny red hearts lying about in my studio (see photo).  As my health gradually returned over this last year and I slowly began the journey back into work I continued to find little hearts tucked deeper among my papers and projects. Those little hearts have been a reminder of all I love about my friends and most importantly, that my work and life has returned to normal.

Thank you Suzanne and all of my friends.

Thanks for taking the time to read this blog. Nancy

website                Priscilla Juvelis, bookseller

This entry was posted in materials. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The String Shop”

  1. I loved hearing about the String Shop and about the Valentines and hearts! Happy February!
    Love, Sharon

  2. velma says:

    i will try to visit the string shop next maine trip. and your friend…well, that’s what it’s all about. i am glad you are better, too.

  3. Erica says:

    Hi Nancy! I’m so happy you posted about this! Last summer I went to Damriscotta looking for cross stitch and needle point and couldn’t find any! Who knew this was right there in Wiscasset! Can’t wait to check it out this summer!

Leave a Reply

